Tools Of The Trade – A Moleskine Review

Moleskine

A Moleskine Review

I want to share something very special with you. For those of you that have not been fortunate enough to discover Moleskine products, then you are in for a treat. Now when I say treat, I mean that in a geeky sort of way. If you love writing then you will also love the various paraphernalia that come with it. I admit, I get very excited over word processors, pens, pencils, and journals. If you really want to send me on a rocket ship to the moon then shove me into an Apple store (and I don’t mean your local greengrocer, they don’t quite have the same effect).

 

 

Arty Farty

One of the benefits of writing is that it doesn’t need to cost you an arm and a leg. However, you need decent tools if you are to be a writer. You will be (or should be) spending an awful lot of time writing if you wish to carve the thoughts floating around in your head into a literary masterpiece. I started off with an expensive hardback diary which I used to carry around in my bag. It was quite flashy and very arty farty. So arty in fact that every time I tried to write on the glossy pages, all that came out was some illegible inkless scrawl. In the words of Rowan Atkinson, it was “about as useful as a one-legged man in an arse kicking contest.”

mr mole

 

 Not a real mole.

Now the term Moleskin does not mean it’s adorned with the skin of a little black creature that burrows in the dark. Heaven’s no! Moleskine is just the name given to these beautiful journals, notebooks and organisers which go way back in time. You can’t help but fall in love with Moleskine when you read a little about its enchanting history, as provided by the official website. It boasts that the original Moleskine was used by artists and thinkers over the past two centuries: among them Vincent van Gogh, Pablo Picasso, Ernest Hemingway, and Bruce Chatwin.

Moleskine Journal

 

Survives minor explosions

I use the Moleskin large journal, page per day, but there are lots of variations, including the week per page diary (pictured). This has a blank page opposite for scribbling and lots of stickers for organising. It feels lovely, very sleek and smooth, and the pages stay open when you lie them flat. The covers can be wiped clean, particularly if your make up explodes in your bag. Yes I am very tough on my journals and this one passed with flying colours! Your pen will just glide on the paper, and there is a neat pocket in the back to keep bits and bobs, which is all held together by the nifty black elastic which is great for pinging if you are in a queue with nothing to do. This journal also has all the usual things you would expect such as a planner, personal details page ect.

messengerbag

Moleskine Bag

If you are considering in investing in a Moleskine journal then do it. If you have some extra cash to spend I also highly recommend the Moleskine bag, which is very luxurious and fashionable. External features include the Moleskine elastic closure, adjustable strap with a concealed sliding buckle, snap fasteners and double flap. The ivory velour lined interior features a rear divider in black terry fabric, an organiser panel, a zipped pocket and an ‘in case of loss’ label. It fits up to 15″ screen for your laptop or notebook.

I hope you enjoyed my review. If you have any comments to add we would love to hear from you.

 

My little disclaimer: By the way as with all my reviews I am not on commission, I don’t work for any of these companies, and don’t take any responsibility for their products. I rave about them because I love them and I hope you do too.

Credits: Thanks to Amazon.co.uk, Wind in the Willows and Moleskine.com

Leave a Reply

