Nail-biting times – Preparing to launch a Paranormal book

Nervous baby

 

This week has been exciting, exhausting and nerve-wracking as I prepare to launch my book ‘Paranormal Intruder’. As I go over the final proofreads, a wave of fear washes over me at the thought of finally releasing my work into the world. I actually feel like slapping myself in the face. After everything I’ve been through over the last few years this frightens me?

Feedback

I’ve told myself that some negative feedback is inevitable. It’s a controversial subject which a lot of people feel very strongly about. I’ve got some very strange emails to prove it! I need to have a thick hide and grow a pair. On second thoughts maybe not the latter, I don’t think my husband would approve.

It’s not as if I’ve just whipped this book up on the back of a napkin and typed it up with two fingers before pressing the upload button. I’ve spent over a year working on the manuscript and ensured it is as professional as can be. Nothing pees me off more than buying a book to find spelling or formatting errors in the first sentence. I’m not exaggerating, and it’s happened more than once … sheesh! So all I can say is don’t even think of self publishing a book without ensuring it is edited, proofread, formatted correctly and has fantastic cover art. If you look hard these things don’t need to cost you the earth, and if you go ahead and ignore my advice then shame on you.

Amazon obsessing

*Step – step* That’s the sound of me getting off my soap box. It’s not a dainty step either, it’s a resigned heavy clomp as it’s cold outside, I’m wearing my boots and I know some people will ignore me anyway. On a good note I’m very excited. Christmas is approaching and it’s my favourite time of year. It gives me hope that some avid paranormal readers will be able to find my book in the listings and buy it for their new kindle to read over their Christmas pud. It also means that instead of obsessively checking my Goodreads ‘to read’ listings for my book, I will be obsessing about how many people are buying it on Amazon. Hint: the more people that buy my book, the drunker I will get on Christmas cheer and last year’s sherry. So here’s hoping I get very, very drunk!

Some useful stuff

If you have read this far, thank you so much. I will now reward you by providing you with some useful recommendations- for those of you that are thinking of publishing a paranormal book. You did read that bit where I said get people to do it properly didn’t you?

Heidi Sutherlin– For great cover art.

Brian Cross – For proofreading. If you want his contact details email me and I will be happy to oblige.

Shelly Tegan and Holly Kammier – My very patient editors.

I will be giving more recommendations in the future and lots of other helpful info so please stick with me. Of course I would love to hear from you, so comments are welcome below.

 

Credits: Picture creative commons. My little disclaimer: My blog is advice only and I cannot be held responsible if you mess up your book, sorry.

 

banner-show-me-you-are-alive-comment-640x114

One comment

Leave a Reply

