Blog Tour and Writing Processes

Many thanks to fantastic crime author Lisa Cutts for inviting me to take part in this blog tour. Lisa balances working full-time for Kent Police with writing crime fiction. An extract from her debut novel, Never Forget, won the Writer’s Retreat Competition in 2012 and was published by Myriad in July 2013. Lisa’s second novel, next in the DC Nina Foster series, is published in August and you can visit her blog here.

What Am I Currently Working On?

Deadly Suspect is my first fiction novel, and the first of the DC Jennifer Knight series. It’s a supernatural crime thriller and I’m very pleased with it so far. I’ve completed my first manuscript and I plan to launch it later this year. I am really enjoying writing fiction, compared to my non fiction book , Paranormal Intruder. There were times I had to put that manuscript away, as I was reliving quite frightening true experiences I preferred to forget.

How Does My Work Differ From Others Of Its Genre?

Supernatural crime is a relatively new genre, and I was attracted it as I have an authentic background to base my book on. I have experienced paranormal activity for the last four years, and am a serving police officer. Although my Jennifer Knight books will not be written in the style of Paranormal Intruder, I have a good understanding of the emotions involved when you are working in the police and encounter something way beyond your understanding.

Why Do I Write What I Do?

I was shocked but delighted when Paranormal Intruder became an instant best seller in its category on Amazon, but after it was launched, I missed the writing process and decided to continue in the form of fiction. I’m so pleased I chose to keep going as writing is such a big part of my life now. In answer to the question I am now writing the sort of books I love to read. Quite often when I read police related thrillers I get frustrated at the inaccuracies, and in this way I can combine my knowledge in both areas to make it an authentic spooky read.

How Does Your Writing Process Work?

I am a mum of four and still working full time in the police, so my time is very precious. I ensure I write every day, and have given myself a deadline for completion, which really keeps me focused. I invested in a Macbook air and bring it everywhere in case the opportunity to write arises. Having said that, most of my writing is done late at night when the house is quiet and everyone is in bed. I’m currently redecorating one of our spare bedrooms and turning it into a study room where I can find some sanctuary to write. One of the walls is going to be a full length chalkboard – I can’t wait!

 

Next week crime thriller author and colleague Peter Facer is taking over. He is the author of the brilliant Legitimate Targets, a high-octane roller coaster ride that will have you on the edge of your seat. You can catch up with Peter on his blog here.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

