Book Review – Eeny Meeny

17860826

Book Review – Eeny Meeny

This book was recommended to me by a friend and I can see why. I have a weakness for a good crime thriller and this did not disappoint. It’s definitely a page turner. The short chapters and numerous hooks kept me reading into the wee hours.
It is not a police procedural as such, but it does not advertise itself as one and it was so well written that did not matter anyway. The protagonist DI Helen Grace makes for a strong character, and without wanting to spoil the story, I would have liked to have seen more development between her and her colleague DS Mark Fuller. You can’t help but root for the underdog, and Mark Fuller had more than his fair share of problems. Without wanting to spoil the story, it races from one incident to another as unwitting victims find themselves held captive with one choice before them; kill or be killed.

I can see why Eeny Meeny has been such a success, the name and cover alone sparked my interest from day one. I enjoyed reading about the other characters plights, and it lent some great background to the story. Be warned it does get a bit grisly at times. I don’t enjoy gory horror films but I love psychological thrillers, so I was quite torn! I enjoyed it so much I bought the kindle version after I returned the paperback to my friend.
Would I recommend it to others? Yes definitely. I could see this being made into a film one day, and I was not surprised to read of the author’s extensive history in television. A cracking read, not for the faint hearted!

About the book:

Eeny Meeny is the rocket-paced serial-killer thriller debut from M. J. Arlidge.

The girl emerged from the woods, barely alive. Her story was beyond belief. But it was true. Every dreadful word of it.

Days later, another desperate escapee is found – and a pattern is emerging. Pairs of victims are being abducted, imprisoned then faced with a terrible choice: kill or be killed.

Would you rather lose your life or lose your mind?

Detective Inspector Helen Grace has faced down her own demons on her rise to the top. As she leads the investigation to hunt down this unseen monster, she learns that it may be the survivors – living calling cards – who hold the key to the case.

And unless she succeeds, more innocents will die . . .

Introducing M. J. Arlidge’s Detective Inspector Helen Grace. Eeny Meeny is an electrifying debut, with the nerve-shredding intensity of Saw and Along Came a Spider. Fans of James Patterson and Mo Hayder should pay attention.

 Click on the book to view on Amazon:

51uvd0HxtYL._SL75_

 

 

Leave a Reply

