Book Review – The Girl On The Train

The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins

I enjoyed this very original story which I downloaded on audio book for my morning commute to work. There was something very surreal about listening to The Girl on the Train as I travelled to work, allowing my own train journey to draw me into the lives of Rachael, Megan and Anna. Rachel’s character was written in great depth, so much so I found myself liking her despite all her self imposed problems and insecurities.

I got through this book very quickly and it kept me captivated throughout. The only thing I will say is that this is not my normal genre and I usually read fast paced crime thrillers or Stephen King novels. I’m not sure this book would have kept my attention as well if I had bought it in paperback form, and it was partly due to the fantastic narration that it kept me listening into the wee hours. I would recommend to anyone wavering between audiobook and paperback to go for the audio version. The plot was good, I guessed the ending three quarter ways through but this is not your classic whodunnit, to me it’s all about the characters and how their relationships interact, develop and change as their worlds collide. There was a lot of hype surrounding this book and it is very well deserved. It’s very cleverly written and I look forward to reading more from this author in the future.

The Girl on the Train

Leave a Reply

