The Secret Behind Don’t Turn Around

Don’t Turn Around – The Countdown Begins!

There’s just two days to publication for the first in the DC Jennifer Knight series, and I can’t wait! Early Goodreads reviews have been amazing, and lots of people have pre-ordered the book already. This week I was thrilled to receive my paperback copies, and I’m sure you can tell by my happy face pictured below that it was quite a momentous occasion.

11147126_10155412894865405_4578234443360623210_n

The Secret Behind Don’t Turn Around

What you may not know is that there is a secret behind the inspiration for the DC Jennifer Knight series. I am also a police officer, and like my main character, I have also experienced the terrifying world of the paranormal. Don’t Turn Around is set in the fictional town of Haven, a place where nothing ever happens, apart from the usual petty crime. Jennifer complains she is bored, but she soon regrets her words as she is flung into a world where nothing is what it seems.

Just like Jennifer, I was thrown head first into the paranormal. Suddenly our house became a playground for an unknown entity that had the power to smash our crockery, throw knives, light fires, growl, moan, and physically prod and scratch. Sound far fetched? Perhaps. But it happened to me, and it prompted me to write my true story, Paranormal Intruder.

Terrifying Events

Writing my true story was harrowing, and there were chapters I wrote with tears in my eyes as I recounted the terrifying series of events. But as time went on, my husband and I learned to deal with what was happening. Writing my story was one of the things that helped me to cope. Paranormal Intruder was published, but I did not stop there. I imagined how much more fun it would be to write a fiction series, with a character I could empathise with, to weave my own experiences of the police and paranormal into the story.

Unprepared

DC Jennifer Knight is completely unprepared for what happens to her, just as we were, and there are times she feels very alone as she doesn’t know who to trust. Like us, she meets people who don’t believe her, but as we did, she also finds her true friends, people who believe her long before they see it with their own eyes.

Don’t Turn Around is mainly a crime thriller with paranormal threads running through it. Crime readers have said it is a mix they would never have considered before, but are now hooked. Paranormal readers found the crime element intriguing. At only 99p to buy on Amazon, you can’t lose.

Here are some of the fantastic reviews we’ve earned so far:

From the first line it had me hooked. Renita D’Sylva, Bookouture Author

Don’t Turn Around by Caroline Mitchell is a completely new take on police procedurals. She combines both her knowledge and skill of police work with the dark, frightening world of the occult. DC Jennifer Knight is a brilliantly written character who battles to investigate a series of seemingly unrelated deaths, with one foot in each camp. The daily grind of being a police officer is skilfully interwoven with her chilling beyond the grave experiences. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and look forward to reading more about DC Jennifer Knight. – Lisa Cutts, crime author

If you like your crime books dark, creepy, engaging and with a touch of the supernatural then this is for you.- OMG That Book.

This is a fantastically written story that keeps you on the edge of your seat. I really didn’t want to put it down and was gutted when it ended. – Dawn Carol Taylor

Veiled in unseen danger and untouchable panic, Don’t Turn Around was absolutely fascinating. With a brilliant cast of crime characters, and a plot that was enough to make me feel dizzy, this was a compelling book that I just couldn’t get enough of. – Becca’s Books

Have you had the opportunity to read Don’t Turn Around? I’d love to hear from you. Post your questions and comments here.

10 comments

      1. From all I’ve heard I’m sure I will! Mr C LOVES ghost stuff on TV; I’m from the Edith Wharton school of thought, “I don’t believe in ghosts but I’m afraid of them”!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

