Five Things That Made 2015 Great

Happy New Year! New Year’s Eve is a time of reflection for many. What were your best bits in 2015? If you’re human, then your year will have been filled with highlights, and some lowlights too. For me, Christmas has been a time of sad reflection for absent loved ones, but also a time to be grateful for the fantastic friends I have encountered.

It was hard to pick just five highlights of 2015, but here we go:

1. Bookouture & my Fellow Authors

From the moment I first met with my editor Keshini Naidoo, I knew my relationship with the Bookouture team would be a special one. Thanks to the amazing team at Bookouture, I’ve been welcomed into the world of writing, and gained a fantastic network of fellow authors I’m proud to call my friends. My books have gone from strength to strength, and I’ve gained an audience which would have taken me years to find on my own. The Bookouture team have been a virtual powerhouse over the last twelve months, and I’m proud to call them my publishers.

2. Book Bloggers

I have so much admiration for these fantastic people. I was going to do an individual shout out, but there’s been so many bloggers that have helped me since the launch of my books, I’m too scared I’ll miss someone out. Besides, you know who you are. I’m always conscious that bloggers give up their free time to read and review our books. Their ‘to read’ list is huge and they take precious time from their daily commitments to sit down and type up their reviews, even when they are in ill-health. I wish I could give them all an individual hug. I’d like to impart this message instead. You are life changers. Never underestimate the good work you do. I wouldn’t be here without you.

3. Readers

Not all readers are reviewers. So I’d like to give a special shout out to the tens of thousands of readers who have bought my books worldwide, and the friends, family and colleagues that I harassed into buying a copy too. It’s mind-blowing to think that so many people have read my work. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart. I love hearing from my readers, and it gives me a special glow when someone goes to the trouble to leave me a review, and I read each and every one. While I know you can’t please everyone, every positive review has given me a warm glow inside, and encouraged me to keep going when things got tough.

4. THE Book Club

I joined this group on Facebook after being invited by a fellow author. Over the course of the year I’ve watched it grow, and have nothing but admiration for the people behind it. Tracy Fenton runs the club with her hardworking teams of admins, several of which I was lucky enough to meet at a recent event in London. I mentioned THE Book Club in the acknowledgements of my last book, Time to Die. A fantastic bunch of book lovers, I look forward to spending time in 2016 with you, and all the other fab book clubs that have taken the time to read my novels.

5. My Agent

When I started my writing journey, having an agent was nothing but a pipe dream. Seriously. You have no idea how hard it is to obtain an agent in this competitive world. That’s why I was over the moon to sign with Madeleine Milburn and her team. I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy. The new year is about new beginnings, I’m so excited about the future. I’ve got lots of news for 2016 and I can’t wait to share it with you.

Sorry if you’ve not made this list, but as I’ve said, it was tough. Thanks to everyone for all your support. I hope 2016 brings you everything you wish for. In a couple of hours time I will be raising a glass to you all as I ring in the new year. (I admit, I’ve already started.) Here’s to the year ahead. xxx

2 comments

Leave a Reply

